Board of Commissioners

Island Rec is governed by a Board of five elected commissioners.  The Board meets on the first Thursday of every month at 5pm in Island Rec’s office at 580 Guard Street.  These are open public meetings and you are encouraged to attend.

The Minutes of each meeting are posted below:

2014 Meeting Minutes
2013 Meeting Minutes

2012 Meeting Minutes
2011 Meeting Minutes
2010 Meeting Minutes


Bill Cumming: Bill is the longest serving Commissioner on Island Rec’s Board and is the board chair for 2015.  His contributions are vast, dating back to the building of the Skate Park and the formation of the Trails Committee.  He was instrumental in the creation of the Teen Halloween Party and other teen programs. Email Bill:




Tracy Roberson
is a native of San Juan Island, and has been on the Board since 2010. She was the Board chair for 2012. Prior to joining the board, Tracy led the charge to develop the  Bicycle Group of the Trails Committee. She is acting as liaison between Island Rec and it’s sub-committee, The Trails Committee. Email Tracy:




JackieReiff_squareJacquelyn Reiff: Jackie joined the board in 2012 and was the board chair for 2014. Jackie is co-owner of The Studio SJI, where she teaches fitness classes. Her son, Brendan, enjoys many Island Rec programs – especially the STAR after school program! Email Jackie:





Scott Zehner

Scott Zehner: Scott has been a part of the Island Rec board since 2005. Scott was instrumental in developing the contract with the High School for funding of school sports.  He and his active family enjoy participating in many Island Rec programs. Email Scott:





Adam EltingeAdam Eltinge: Adam was appointed to the board in Sept 2014.

Email Adam: